Easy Cauliflower Fried Rice Recipe

I don’t know about you…but I’ve never liked cauliflower. So it came as a surprise to me when I actually liked this experiment! It’s not my own experiment– as many of you have probably seen, this idea has been thrown all around pinterest. Cauliflower rice…huh? Weird, I know!! But I thought I would give it a try because if it was any good I could get an extra serving of veggies in my day and a little less carbs. I’m not knocking carbs, I love them and I know our bodies need them, but sometimes it’s awesome to have a substitute for them! πŸ™‚ I thought I would take the cauliflower rice experiment to the next level and add an asian twist to it…so behold, cauliflower fried rice!

Well anyway, this recipe actually turned out great and I will be making it again very soon! I mean this is a healthy fried rice recipe…it doesn’t get much better in my book! Next time I’m going to add some turkey bacon pieces and edamame, which I KNOW will make this 10 times better.

Easy Cauliflower Fried Rice Recipe

C’mon…you have to admit, it looks kinda like rice!

Interesting facts about cauliflower: I feel like these little tidbits get repetitive when they all talk about the amazing antioxidant properties and cancer-fighting potential of my ingredients…but when you eat healthy, I guess that’s the best part! Cauliflower is high in antioxidants, has antiinflammatory properties, can increase your blood flow, and is loaded with vitamins and fiber! Read more here.

So finally… my easy, healthy, and quick cauliflower fried rice recipe! You’ll find lots of protein and fiber in this veggie packed recipe!

Here’s what you’ll need to serve 4-6 people in under 30 minutes:

♦ 1 head of cauliflower

♦ 3 large cage-free organic brown eggs

♦ 1/2 yellow onion

♦ 4 slices of turkey bacon (not pictured)

♦ 1 cup frozen edamame (not pictured)

♦ 2 green onions

♦ 2 tbs all natural oyster sauce (read the ingredients to find the best one like this)

♦ 1 tsp cayenne pepper (optional for spice)

♦ salt & pepper to taste

Easy Cauliflower Fried Rice Recipe

Here’s what you’ll do:

Chop the cauliflower into separated florets and pulse them in a food processor until it looks kind of like rice. If you don’t have a food processor, you can use a a cheese grater…though it would take more time and effort.

Chop the rest of the ingredients. Throw the turkey bacon in a large pan and cook until crispy. Put the bacon to the side and add the edamame and onions, with a little salt and pepper, into what’s left of the bacon fat on the pan and cook them for about 5 minutes on medium heat. Put to the side.

Scramble the eggs in the pan and then mix in the cauliflower (now “rice”), turkey bacon, onion, edamame, and oyster sauce. Make sure there is enough room in the pan for the “rice” to get some air…if that makes any sense at all… Basically, if there’s enough room in the pan for it to “air out” it will be less mushy. You may have to cook it in 2 separate batches for that to happen because the cauliflower makes a lot of rice!

Cook for about 5 minutes until the “rice” is tender but NOT mushy.

Serve and add chopped green onions on top!

Voila, quick and healthy fried rice!Β How long did it take me? About 25 minutes! Don’t tell me you don’t have time to treat your body right! πŸ™‚

Easy Cauliflower Fried Rice Recipe

now…just imagine the turkey bacon! mmmm

β™₯Santa Monica Lifeβ™₯

Comments
6 Responses to “Easy Cauliflower Fried Rice Recipe”
  1. truefoodlove says:

    I’ve seen cauliflower used in so many ways and this sounds amazing! Will be trying this! Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

  2. MJ says:

    I plan on making this too. Keep up the great blog. ENJOY your writings.

  3. This looks so good!! I tried making cauliflower mash before and I loved it, so I am sure that I will love this recipe too πŸ™‚

    • alidaniel says:

      Thanks! I really was impressed since I don’t normally like cauliflower! I mean it doesn’t taste quite like rice, but it still tastes good and makes for a new texture!

Leave a Reply

