Healthy, Easy, Simple Asparagus Soup or Purée or Sauce Recipe…

Forgive me for the title of this recipe being weird… I really wasn’t sure what I wanted to use this asparagus concoction for until it was done and surprisingly it’s very versatile! Either I’m just that good (highly likely)…or I’m just that crazy (equally as likely), but I made this recipe work for me 3 different ways. 1) I ate it as a soup. 2) I ate it as a sauce 3) I ate it as a dip. It ended up being pretty thick, so as a soup I could only have a small amount. I would add more broth to it next time if I wanted it thinner. As a sauce it was ahh-mazing served over spaghetti squash. And as a dip it was legen…wait for it and I hope you’re not lactose intolerant because the next word is…dary (legendary, get it!? Are there any How I Met Your Mother fans reading this?). Moving on…

It was a little stormy last night, so instead of roasting my asparagus like I might do on any other night, I wanted to make a soup with it (or maybe this was just another excuse to use my beloved vitamix blender again?). Either way, I grabbed my bunch of asparagus from the fridge, chopped ’em up all nice n’ itty bitty and cooked them on the stove with some onions and veggie broth for about 20 minutes, then puréed the sh*t out of it, which is always thrilling in its own unique way. What can I say, I love blending things to a pulp! Is that weird?

blend all the things!!

heheh me on a daily basis

My favorite part about this asparagus thingy is that it’s almost a completely fat free recipe (unless you choose to add a tiiiiny bit of grated cheese at the end, like I did,…but hey, a little cheese never hurt anyone! Unless you really are lactose intolerant. In that case, keep away from the cheese!!) Asparagus is a very healthy vegetable that contains few calories and has no fat or cholesterol, so this recipe is super low calorie too! When paired with some spaghetti squash you’ve got a filling meal with like practically negative calories *like oh emm geee!* Hah, not really, but this is a home run if you’re looking to shrink your muffin top, pop your spare tire, flatten your jelly belly, or you know, just lose weight. This makes a great healthyfresh, easy, simple dish, and works great as a party snack too!

Healthy, Easy, Simple Asparagus Soup, Purée, or Sauce Recipe

Interesting facts about asparagus: Did you know that asparagus spears are aptly named due to their use in fights?! Ok, not literally.. I guess you could use them to poke someone in the eye, but that’s about it. No, the real fights I’m talking about are the fights against diseases and effects of aging! Asparagus is a particularly rich source of glutathione, a detoxifying compound that helps break down carcinogens and other harmful compounds like free radicals, helping us fight certain forms of cancer, like bone, breast, colon, larynx and lung cancers, and slow down the aging process. Asparagus also contains folate, which works with vitamin B12, to help prevent cognitive impairment. I know what you’re thinking…. “man I need to eat more asparagus!” Great idea! Just a fair warning though… be prepared for stinky pee!  😉 Read more about asparagus benefits here.

Baked Tortilla Chips

I made these baked tortilla chips and some spaghetti squash to go with this asparagus recipe. The squash is easy, you just throw it in the oven for an hour then scoop it all out and serve. Well, sort of…better directions are here. The tortilla chips are simple too. Grab some fresh whole wheat tortillas and cut them into desired shapes and sized, place on a foil covered baking sheet, spray them lightly with cooking oil spray and bake at 375F for about 8 minutes. Tastay! I like to use fresh tortillas because normal packaged ones are processed with a lot of chemicals and preservatives…even the “healthiest” ones. So go buy some good fresh ones from whole foods or somewhere like that! Your body will thank you! This asparagus dip with the tortilla chips is insanely good…it might even replace our addiction to my hummus recipe once in a while!

Healthy, Easy, Simple Asparagus Soup, Purée, or Sauce Recipe

Here’s What You’ll Need:

♦ 1 bunch of asparagus/about 20 spears (spears of medium thickness)

♦ Food processor/high powered blender

♦ 1/3 cup non-sweetened almond milk (has about 1 gram of fat)

♦ 1 1/2 cup low sodium vegetable broth

♦ 1/2 white onion chopped

♦ 2 cloves garlic chopped

♦ 1-2 tbs of whole wheat flour (less = thinner, more= thicker)

♦ 1/3 cup of 0% fat Greek yogurt (helps make it a bit tangy and creamy without the fat of cream)

♦ 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

♦ cayenne pepper, salt, black pepper to taste

♦ 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese (aka 1 tbs for each serving)

Serves 4 as a sauce, soup, or dip with approximately 74 calories/serving, 1.5g fat (.25g without the cheese), 9.5g carbs, 3g fiber, 7.5g protein 

Here’s What You’ll Do:

Chop off the woody ends of the asparagus (about 1.5″ off the ends) and discard–don’t forget to do this or else your soup may be fiberous and stringy! Chop the spears into smaller bits and place in pan with about 1 cup of the vegetable broth, the chopped onion, and garlic. Cover and simmer on medium heat until asparagus is tender (about 20 min).

Place mixture in blender with the almond milk and yogurt then blend until you reach your desired consistency. I like it super smooth!

Whisk the whole wheat flour into a bowl containing the remaining 1/2 cup of vegetable broth until there are no flour chunks left. Add this to a large saucepan with the lemon juice, a bit of cayenne pepper, salt and black pepper. Pour in the pureed asparagus soup mixture, stir, and simmer for a few minutes until hot.

Healthy, Easy, Simple Asparagus Soup, Purée, or Sauce Recipe

Serve as a sauce over some filling spaghetti squash for a full meal, or serve as a soup or dip for a quick healthy side dish! Don’t forget to slurp if it’s delicious (which it will be!).

Healthy, Easy, Simple Asparagus Soup, Purée, or Sauce Recipe

Santa Monica Life♥

Comments
One Response to “Healthy, Easy, Simple Asparagus Soup or Purée or Sauce Recipe…”
  1. You are a very clever individual!

Leave a Reply

