Tasty Green Smoothie

This is not a rhetorical question…who doesn’t love a good smoothie? Honestly!?

If you answered “me” then you need to stop reading and check your tastebuds…you may not have any. Seriously though, smoothies are a great way to add some extra nutrients to your diet while enjoying some great fruity flavors. You can add vitamins, extra protein, some supplements, etc., or keep it simple and just add a few mild tasting veggies like spinach and kale, like I did, to up the healthiness of your typical smoothie and turn it into a green super smoothie! *flexes biceps*

Tasty and Nutritious Green Smoothie!

So I made this smoothie this morning with the intention of making a healthy green smoothie that wouldn’t make me gag because so many of them do! I’m not into the craze of drinking pure kale spinach cucumber parsley juice (blech!). Those things taste disgusting and don’t believe anyone who tells you otherwise! I like to make my juice/smoothies with a mix of fruits and veggies so that every sip leaves me wanting more! So far this is my favorite of all the green smoothies I’ve made! Go me!

Interesting facts about kale: Did you know that kale has more iron per calorie than beef!? Many people have an iron deficiency and don’t even realize it– maybe you’re tired often, have cold hands/feet, get headaches frequently, feel light headed, have brittle nails? These are all symptoms of an iron deficiency. Iron is essential for good health, such as transporting oxygen to various parts of the body, cell growth, proper liver function and more. Maybe it’s time you start eating less red meat and eating more kale! Read more about the benefits of kale here.

Here’s What You’ll Need:

♦a high powered blender (like my amazing vitamix!)

♦1 cup of orange juice

♦1/4 cup cranberry juice

♦1/4 cup water

♦1 ripe banana

♦5 medium organic strawberries

♦1 large organic kale leaf

♦a large handful of fresh organic spinach

♦1 tbsp lemon juice

♦a couple ice cubes

Tasty and Nutritious Green Smoothie!

Here’s What You’ll Do:

Add the liquids to the blender, then add the fruits and lemon juice, top with the kale and spinach. Blend until smooth on a high speed so the the spinach and kale leaves are completely blended. Add the ice and blend until the ice is broken up. Drink up!

 

♥Santa Monica Life♥

Comments
3 Responses to “Tasty Green Smoothie”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] favorite weekend breakfasts. I typically have a healthy green smoothie for breakfast, like this one here, but it’s nice to switch it up every now and then, especially on the weekends. I […]

  2. […] if you try this recipe and still don’t like kale (not likely), try this smoothie recipe where you can eat your veggies but not taste […]

  3. […] favorite weekend breakfasts. I typically have a healthy green smoothie for breakfast, like this one here, but it’s nice to switch it up every now and then, especially on the weekends. I […]



Leave a comment