Healthy (duh) Strawberry Cheesecake Smoothie

I just made this smoothie for an afternoon snack and it’s so good I might have to go make myself another… Honestly,I just downed it like it was my job (maybe I should switch career paths and own a Jamba Juice). Anyway, if you’re looking for a healthy snack, breakfast or maybe dessert and you love strawberry cheesecake as much as I do then whip one of these up and prepare to be pleasantly surprised. I’m really not sure why it came out with a cheesecake-y flavor, I was expecting more of a strawberries ‘n creme smoothie, but I was really happy with the results so I thought I would share.

This little snack packs in a ton of fiber so it will definitely satisfy your hunger for a few hours. It’s all natural, vegan, and it’s only 260 calories.

Strawberry Cheesecake smoothie

Interesting facts about strawberries: Did you know that strawberries can help prevent wrinkles?! (I think I will go make myself another one of these smoothies…) Strawberries contain tons of vitamin C; the vitamin that plays a vital part in our bodies’ production of collagen, which is that stuff you always here about that makes our skin “elastic” and resilient (does anyone else think it’s weird that people use the word elastic to describe skin..?).  Anyway, as if that wasn’t a good enough reason to eat more strawberries, researchers at Hallym University in the Republic of Korea concluded that ellagic acid, found in strawberries, visibly prevented collagen destruction and inflammatory response (two major factors in the development of wrinkles) in human skin cells. Read more about the amazing health benefits of strawberries here.

Healthy Strawberry Cheesecake smoothie

Here’s what you’ll need:

♦about 20 frozen strawberries

♦1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

♦2 pitted dried dates (if you don’t have a high powered blender you should try using another natural sweetener like agave nectar instead as the dates won’t blend easily)

♦1 generous tbs almond butter (no added sugar)

♦1 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (more or less depending on how thick you like your smoothies)

♦strawberry or vanilla protein powder if you’re using this as a protein smoothie, in which case you’ll need a little more almond milk.

makes 1 serving at 260 calories, 12.5g fat, 34g carbs, 11g fiber, 7.5g protein 

Healthy Strawberry Cheesecake Smoothie

Sorry, I’m not the best photographer….this is the smoothie in the blender!

Here’s what you’ll do:

Pour the almond milk in the blender first and then dump everything else in. Blend until it’s a smooth and creamy goodness. Bottoms up!

♥Santa Monica Life♥

Leave a Reply

